About | Artists | Catalog | News | Mates | Contact




LaGrange, GA ...
Jammates Records announces roster artist Marshall Ruffin has been nominated for the Independent Music Awards ‘Best Blues Album of the Year’. Morning Glory, Ruffin’s latest release, has been selected to compete with four others for the prestigious 9th annual recognition. An esteemed panel of artist and industry judges including Anthony DeCurtis (Rolling Stone), Tom Waits, The Black Keys, Bettye LaVette, and Kevin Lyman (Warped Tour) will select the winner in January 2010. There is also a “People’s Choice Award” determined by fan voting and awarded in June.

“Obviously, I’m honored for the nomination” says Ruffin, “I can’t even imagine winning in the blues category because my music is such an amalgam of rock, grunge and blues. The industry prefers you fit nicely into a certain genre. But, that’s what is so good about the IMAs ­ they are more diverse.” Pat Patten, Morning Glory record producer and partner in Jammates, adds “Some contests are all about the cash and the prizes, but the IMAs deliver yearlong promotional support and performance opportunities that place the winners and nominees in front of millions of music lovers. The most important thing for an indie artist like Marshall at this stage in his career is to play a lot plus grow and know more fans, and the IMA nomination certainly should help.”

The Independent Music Awards was created by the Music Resource Group, publisher of The Musician’s Atlas & Atlas Online. Among others, program partners include eMusic, PureVolume, Pump Audio, Rock The Vote and CMJ Music Marathon. Artist submissions from more than 70 countries are reviewed and nominated into more than 50 Song, Album, Design, and Music Video categories. Winners will be determined by a panel of 80 influential artist and industry judges.

Morning Glory, released in September, is Marshall Ruffin’s sophomore effort. He is the only Georgia artist on this year’s IMA ballot. Other Georgians contributing to the record’s success include: Dennis Baraw (bass), Alan Marcha (drums), Steve Dancz (Hammond B3 & Wurlitzer piano), Steve Meadows (The Loft Recording Studio), Dean Castile (Document Studio), Paul Hammock (Jammates), Rodney Mills (Rodney Mills Masterhouse), and Coe Cloud (Jammates / Coe Cloud Designs). Rich Man’s Dime, Ruffin’s 2008 freshman release, spent eight weeks on the Roots Blues Chart and ended the year at no. 4 on Georgia Roots Radio.

For more information on the Artist, visit www.MarshallRuffin.com.

For more information on the Independent Music Awards visit: www.independentmusicawards.com


Interview Contact: Pat Patten, Managing Partner, Jammates Records LLC
Telephone: 706.333.0787
Email: pat@jammates.com

Marshall Ruffin
The twenty-five year old roots-rock and blues singer-songwriter-guitarist grew up in typical Americana, where science was at the fabric of his family. After finding a guitar in his attic at age thirteen, Marshall taught himself to play. Just several short years later, he majored in jazz performance at the Berklee College of Music. It was while in Boston Ruffin recognized and tapped into his songwriting skills and vocal gifts. Within a year after graduation, Marshall moved to Columbus GA for some Ma Rainey education, opened for dozens of regional and national artists, and signed with Jammates Records. After experiencing a Marshall Ruffin performance, one only expects his momentum to accelerate. Rich Man's Dime, his freshman EP, was released in February '08 and spent eight weeks on the roots/blues chart ending the year at no. 4 on Georgia Roots Radio. Morning Glory, his 2009 sophomore effort, hit the streets in September and is nominated for the Independent Music Awards 'Blues Album of the Year'. Marshall Ruffin will be playing solo and with his trio throughout east coast music venues in support of the new release.

Supporting: Arc Angels, Robin Trower, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Marshall Tucker Band
jammates records © 2005-2018
privacy policy